June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

In Print

Reviewer Magazine in print:

#50, #49, #48, #47, #46, #45, #44, #43, #42, #41 #40, #39, #38,...

:::

Big City Tattoo

NEW LOCATION!

Big City Tattoo, Inc.
Big City Tattoo, Inc.
2939 El Cajon Boulevard 
San Diego, CA 92104 
619-299-4868
2939 El Cajon Boulevard
San Diego, CA 92104
619-299-4868
tat2inc.com
The Polynesian
Tap-Tattoo
Headquarters
,
San Diego's ONLY Qualified Samoan Tap Artist. Specializing in ALL custom tattoos. Voted Best Tattoo Artist in San Diego!


:::

:::

Sex On Wheels video live

[pop music]

“Sex On Wheels”

My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult at the SD Casbah 6-16-16

video by Reviewer Rob

This is the video referred to in the previous “Goth Girls” post. Sound quality was poor at the venue on top of the in-camera mic on the Nikon D5300 efforts at its best, plus it looks like some lyrics were misplaced in one part, but here it is:

Goth Girls Getting Into It

[Live Entertainment]

Kate & Nicole

photos by Reviewer Rob

I have two photo log blog entries to Photoshop, Lightroom gallery, upload and write. One from last night (6-15) where I was shooting ambient light with my D5300 and Vivitar analog 2.5 105mm fixed. and the other is from tonight when I finally got out to see the got (Industrial rock?) biggies My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult on stage at The Casbah. I wanted to shoot a video of the big radio play hit “Sex On Wheels”. And I did!

But then I met this girl Kate and her friend Nicole and they were all hip to get down and do some shooting right there in the club.

Everything else must wait now. Hot goth girls always, ALWAYS, get to go first.

So here’s an autogallery posted below that Adobe Lightroom cranked out. I shot RAW pics too so I will undoubtably do some Photoshopping of them for the upcoming print issue, Reviewer 51, where at least one or two will be on the pages.

I’ll try to get the other stuff up later, when I have more time.

In the meanwhile take a look at Kate and Nicole…

Gothy hot girls that perform for the camera, quite often nothing is better.
Click the pic for the gallery:

Kate is kneeling and Nicole is against the wall, two goth ladies at the My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult show, Casbah SD, 6-16-16. Photo by Reviewer Rob. Click the pic for the full gallery.

Kate is kneeling and Nicole is against the wall, two goth ladies at the My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult show, Casbah SD, 6-16-16. Photo by Reviewer Rob. Click the pic for the full gallery.

Portland's World Naked Bike Ride 2016

World Naked Bike Ride PDX 2016

World Naked Bike Ride PDX 2016


“Peace Love and Ride Safe!”

by Reviewer Rob

The 2016 Portland World Naked Bike Ride (PDXWNBR) is Saturday, June 25th. Location TBA. This ride is listed online as a protest.

The organizers have told me that they have all the proper police permits for this and it will be very well regulated.

They want to highlight the dangers bicyclists face on our nation’s motorways and by riding naked they will demonstrate just how vulnerable those who ride bikes are. It’s probably also about esoteric elements like freedom and nonconformism to unreasonably restrictive social norms and all that, but I’ll have to ask them to be sure.

Sounds sensible to me. Plus it’s Portland, Oregon, where the town has an informal motto of “Keep Portland Weird”, so a naked bike ride fits right in with the community ethos.

Should be pretty interesting. Will you be there?

Check out their official website at pdxwnbr.org:

Join us on Saturday, June 25th at Mt Scott City Park

“The World Naked Bike Ride is an annual, worldwide bike ride that highlights the vulnerability of cyclists everywhere and decries society’s dependence on pollution-based transport. It’s also a lot of fun and it’s free for all!”

World Naked Bike Ride // Portland, Oregon from Stay Wild on Vimeo.

World Naked Bike Ride PDX 2016

World Naked Bike Ride PDX 2016

Trump's Racist Street Slang

San Diego’s Brush With Trump University

by Reviewer Rob

So, I attended a Trump University seminar in early 2007 at an upscale San Diego Mission Valley hotel in San Diego. The big advertising buzz that at the time was that you’d “Learn from the Master”, Mister Donald Trump.

Now keep in mind, nine or ten years ago Trump’s hair was much less thin and he was still riding the wave of television prime-time fame of The Apprentice and had yet to be associated with the Obama-hating “birther movement”. At the time I listed him on Myspace as someone that I admired for being a self-made success. I was also naive enough to think that Trump might be at the seminar — that’s how the hype read — if not to teach a class at least to help sell the course to the real estate developer hopefuls crowding the auditorium.

Out of respect I came dressed well in a three button jacket and a white dress shirt, and upon entering the room to find a seat was immediately shadowed by a tall, grey haired old gentleman who bird-dogged me with small talky questions about what I did for a living and other inquiries designed to determine my socio-economic status. The dude even sat next to me and kept prying in-between speakers. From the moment he showed up I had him made as either a member of Trump’s sales team or some freelance scammer looking for an easy mark.

I told him I really just came there to find out more about this new Trump school, get the free book they were offering (a paperback reprint of the 1980’s bestseller The Art Of The Deal was offered as a gift to lure seminar attendees, if I remember correctly) and hopefully meet Donald Trump. He laughed like the others did who told me, “Mister Trump has more important things to do” than attend this seminar in San Diego.

‘Well that’s a fine how-do-you-do,’ I thought. If Trump University wanted this hefty tuition The Donald could make a personal appearance himself for it.

Anyways, I stuck around till the end of their multimedia sales pitch and when they funneled everyone in a slowly moving cluster line out the back like the remnants of last night’s buffet the tables that were stacked with the mini pulp versions of The Art Of The Deal awaited. But there was a catch: you had to get through the sales reps’ predatory wrangle face to face before walking out with your free copy. When my turn came at the table I was honest with well dressed goon standing there, a man in his mid-forties or so with a slightly graying goatee, short salt and pepper hair and large muscles under a sport shirt that looked like he spent a lot of time in the gym lifting heavy weight earning.

Unpretentiously I told him I came for the free book they advertising for attendees. The stacks were on the far side of the table, out of reach unless you reached way over. He didn’t say anything for a while and glared at me angrily. We went back and forth like this and although it was uncomfortable I was as polite as possible and tried to laugh off the momentary threat vibe, but he looked off to the exit and I could sense he wanted to have me thrown out rather than give me a book.

I left with the book, which I still have somewhere. I tried reading it and it sucked, a ghostwritten example of 1980’s self-help dribble. Trump was born into wealth, not self made. His words rang hollow.

Recently, in the days before the final Republican Primary in early June, Trump’s rap spun around the Mexican-American identity of the federal judge presiding over his Trump University fraud case. The Donald thinks Judge Gonzalo Curiel should be recused, eliminating himself from the case because of his ‘Mexican’ ethnicity. “We’re building a wall. He’s a Mexican,” Trump has said to Jake Tapper on CNN.

Colloquially, he’s right. Unfortunately from a sociological street-level standpoint, just like if a person looks negro they’re referred to as African-American. In California as well as much of the USA if you look strikingly Hispanic people will say you’re “Mexican”. This is nothing new and it’s even more so when a person identifies himself as being of Mexican heritage, as Judge Curiel has done. Same thing if you’re Asian, Arab, or a descendant of people from the Indian subcontinent. When it comes up in conversation that’s how they’re described. All this is not in Trump’s defense. Despite formerly professing admiration my opinion today is he’s a dirt bag and a con artist. Trump University was not a university at all but a bait-and-switch scam that ripped off vulnerable people with worthless tuition whom Trump knew were hoping to make money off the housing bubble. I’m just saying, racial identity is always a separate thing from citizenship UNLESS you’re white. This judge can still weigh the case fairly. Many of Roosevelt’s highest ranking officers were of German descent in World War Two, including Eisenhower. No one questioned their loyalty. And if Trump wanted to have his fraud case tried in a court without an Hispanic jurist he could have been more careful to avoid Southern California.

Conning his way to his best deal.

Conning his way to his best deal.

Judge Gonzalo Curiel.

Judge Gonzalo Curiel.

A paperback copy of Trump's famous mid-1980's bestseller was given away at the seminar. It's really why I went. That, and the prospect of meeting the big dude himself were my reasons to attend.

A paperback copy of Trump’s famous mid-1980’s bestseller was given away at the seminar. It’s really why I went. That, and the prospect of meeting the big dude himself were my reasons to attend.

Adobe Lightroom Gallery To The Resue

[hi tec]

Automated Picture Displays in Adobe Creative Cloud

by Reviewer Rob

So, I went to a coffee shop last night at 12:30 and sat down, and by 3 a.m. automated a photo gallery in Adobe Creative Cloud for the first time. For two or three years now I’d been lamenting the absence of the standard included autogallery in Creative Cloud and even Photoshop 6 after switching over from Mac to PC in 2010, but then searched online and found I could add the Photoshop auto gallery function from the ‘Goodies’ disc that came with Creative Suite 6. Why they did that was puzzling. When in 2007 a buddy in Ocean Beach SD who lived two doors down and webmastered a BBW site told me all that was required to output a Photoshop gallery was File > Automate I quite literally went nuts. It was like an epiphany that spurned a massive surge in creativity. I credit that and the the discovery of WordPress for content management as being what made everything make sense in web design and were the real starting points for everything that came after for me. Well, there was also that girl from Craigslist in 2005 who showed me how to write an href picture hotlink in html but I’m going way too far in the past now.

Back to my story about last night. For some reason Adobe bailed on auto galleries completely after CS6. I began to think it was a conspiracy thing and that they were in bed with designers that were somewhere selling other applications to photographers and hobbyists who needed a photo management creation system. After reading a couple of Adobe help forums it turned out they were moving it around, first to Bridge for a failed iteration that was plagued with bugs and outright nonfunctionality, and then settling on Lightroom which I discovered last night was a fine version comparable at first blush to what I left behind in Photoshop 6. I even tried it in my CC Bridge before starting up Lightroom and found out the Bridge problems were known issues that got reproduced in identical fashion for me: you download and install a Workspace folder in your Adobe Programs, after which when you click on Output it won’t work, and then upon starting Bridge — nothing happens. The application won’t even start up. So I deleted the Output folders and the app started up again. Back to normal Bridge, back to square one, and still no autogallery.

More Google searching for fixes and part of the way down page one was the entry for Lightroom’s CC gallery output. Viola! Sunshine everywhere, it worked perfectly first time with no downloading and modifying of the app in my hard drive.

Seriously, it was like Adobe was playing some kind of snarky prank on the older users like me that were used to the way things were before Creative Cloud. I still suspect some kind of conspiracy.

Picture from Google Image search: "Adobe Lightroom web gallery".

Picture from Google Image search: “Adobe Lightroom web gallery”.

PHOTOLOG: old glass, Tamron 19mm fixed focal length f3.5-22

[Photolog] 

analog lenses, circa 1989

by Reviewer Rob

More analog lenses.

Here’s my manual-focus 19mm Tamron f3.5 to 22 that I bought new in 1989 or so, when it was modern technology. I got it down at either George’s North Park or Nelson’s in Little Italy. I forget for sure which it was but I’m pretty sure it was Nelson’s. I loved this lens for so long because of the strange fisheye effect it gave when shooting in crowds. Groups of people could fit in a shot and I never had to walk backward a step to get the shot. So I used all the time, especially in nightclubs with a flash at f8 and 400 ISO, until going digital in 2005. I set it aside ten years ago during the whole switch from 35mm to digital ut I’m going to begin playing around with it again now. Here it is mounted on my Nikon D5200.

One nice thing about this 19mm fixed focal length Tamron is its compact profile. It’s less bulky to carry and it fits well in almost any camera bag space. My heavy digital autofocus 10 to 24mm has a lot wider angle but the thing is almost as long and fat as the camera body it mounts on, so the 19mm’s snubnose profile has its advantages when shooting in a crowd too. I especially like the way the focusing collar is rigid and stays preset no matter how much it gets swung around. All I have to do is get within a certain margin of distance from a subject in some place like a crowded dark nightclub or a wedding reception dance floor and I don’t even have to check the focus because I know at f8 with a flash they’ll be sufficiently sharp. Makes for fast photos and great candids. #oldglass #analog #nondigitallensesrule

Hello old friend: Tamron 19mm fixed, f3.5

Hello old friend: Tamron 19mm fixed, f3.5

I like this old Tamron wide angle's stubby profile.

I like this old Tamron wide angle’s stubby profile.

Shot about ten inches away from the mirror, so about twenty inches away from the subject in focus: me. This was believe it or not my main lens for years between 1989 when I got it to 2005 when I went digital. I was so in love with that strange fisheyed effect, especially for crowd grab shots. Haha, something to grow out of I guess.

Shot about ten inches away from the mirror, so about twenty inches away from the subject in focus: me. This was believe it or not my main lens for years between 1989 when I got it to 2005 when I went digital. I was so in love with that strange fisheyed effect, especially for crowd grab shots. Haha, something to grow out of I guess.

sub pop label sampler cd

[Confession]

An Unintentional Luddite?

by Reviewer Rob, from 5-29-16, 5:41 p.m.

Right Now.

Now I’m listening to this Sub Pop label sampler in my car CD player.

This is going to sound rightfully dumb, but it is almost June 2016 and this is the very first time I have ever heard a compact disc in my car radio. Don’t bother asking why eithet, but I have never listened to CDs in my own automobiles until this very moment. Crazy, huh?

Twenty or even eighteen years ago I would listen while driving to lots of review submissions that I copied or had been mailed in, but they were always tape cassettes. Then by the mid to late 90’s CDs took over and so did Reviewer magazine as a source of music reviews for new artists and the discs came flooding in. Then cars stopped having tape players and boom boxed stopped having dual tape cassette copiers with CD players. So I guess I got rebellious. I stopped trying, and I stopped caring. I would only sit down with a boom box to listen to a music CD for review purposes and not to relax, or during my ample time while in a car.

Maybe I’m wack crazy but I think I partially justified it by rationalizing the CDs would skip when I drove over a bump.

Amazing but I had never analyzed this before now either, but there you go.

Make Sub Pop Great Again label catalog comp, front.

Make Sub Pop Great Again label catalog comp, front.

Make Sub Pop Great Again label catalog comp, back.

Make Sub Pop Great Again label catalog comp, back.

photo log, 5-29-16: La Jolla Villiage

[art and quiet]

PHOTOS: La Jolla; The Athenaeum, Religious Iconography, Art & Books On Girard

by Reviewer Rob

Yesterday I rescheduled some work for Tuesday and went for a little Memorial Day weekend afternoon walk in La Jolla after cashing a customer’s check at the Wells Fargo in-store branch at Ralphs on Girard and Pearl, gotta love that Sunday service.

I took my D5200 with the 50mm 1.4 intending to shoot down at the shore but changed my mind after stopping into a small art gallery and walking around a couple of block and having lunch. Most of these photos were shot at f1.4, between ISO 400 and 1000. I can open up the file info and verify on the shutter speed but most were shot at 200th or 250th, with some being way higher or a bit lower, probably down to 125th. Sorry for the vagueness, I should probably take the time to make notes while shooting this log shouldn’t I. I’ll make a note of that, haha. (See what I did there?)

I’m starting to really like using this antique retro 50mm again and getting back to being all-manual in my settings and focusing the way I did when I first began as a photographer in my early twenties. It feels more in tune with the creative environment. It’s almost like going barefoot or wearing flip flops. Okay not really, but the control and sensitivity to the photographic process makes one much more aware of exactly what’s going on in the frame being shot and builds quality.

The narrow depth of field shot at 1.4 is appealing too. Attention is closely drawn to that elements in the photo that are most sharply in focus and all the other details in soft focus become bit players, supporting characters in the composition. This is probably one reason why it’s a trick found in much high-end marketing of fashion photography. It commands ‘look at THIS’.

These pics were auto-uploaded by file number and posted in reverse order, last up top and then down to first. The photos started at The Athenaeum and then I moved south on Girard to the Catholic Church on the corner and then to the Shane Bowen gallery and the window of the fashion which preceded it. The final shot up front was at a used book store next to a coffee shop.

Enjoy.

~RR

photo log 5-29-16

Used book stores are the best for browsing, shopping, and spending idle time. They also make good photo subjects. Reviewer photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

In the alley behind the La Jolla Comedy Store on Pearl. This mini-bottle was on the windowsill. Wondered if it was a vagrant’s or from a previous night’s comedy show used by a performer to warm up before his act. Nah, they have a special room for that I’m sure. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

the old shoe repair shop in the alley behind the La Jolla Comedy Store. Not sure if it’s independently owned or a tenant of the venue’s. Charming remnant lingering of old La Jolla though. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

In the Shane Bowden gallery on Girard. I think the girl said this piece was called “I’m Catholic Bitch!” (Note the exclamation point.) photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

One of two remaining unsold porn-themed pieces in the gallery. There had been like four or six, I think the girl said. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Gril-on-girl action, with Bruce Lee standing by to keep the crowd polite. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Marilyn Monroe never died. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Eyes on fashion. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Plenty to window shop on Girard Avenue if fashion is your fix. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

The cultural significance of the catholic religion in Western art can not be overstated. That said, I love how my 50mm’s f1.4 setting draws attention to the pattern on the wall I had in focus and leaves the rest of the photo fuzzy. This will be useful… photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Games of chance? Playing cards at the feet of Jesus. It said that the Roman’s cast lots for his clothes while be hung on the cross. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

ART SCENE magazine is a great resource if you like that sort of scene. The skinny size is smart too. Stacks fit anywhere for distribution and you can throw it in your glove box or on your dashboard to peruse while at a light. (Not illegal like texting is.) photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

The Athenaeum library is like a museum and has art shows and lots of books. It was and may still be the largest and/or oldest private library west of the Mississippi. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Bishop’s School display at The Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Page that the dictionary was open to on the Bishop’s School display shelf. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Mega-art-history in The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Big art books at The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Collage books on table display at The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Room at The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

photo log 5-29-16

Bicycle art display at The La Jolla Athenaeum. photo log 5-29-16

Democratic Mail-in Participation

[Democracy]

Voting by Mail in California

by Reviewer Rob

So, I’m mailing in my California Democratic Primary ballot today. Participating in democracy has never been easier. I don’t know why they have that rule that says you have to be registered as a Democrat to participate in this election though. That doesn’t seem fair or democratic. What if someone has a change of heart at the last minute and wants to vote for one of the candidates yet is a Republican? Not an implausible scenario but one that would disqualify them from the contest.

This election feels historic, again. I wanted to make sure that I was involved, so I registered as Democrat for the first tie in my life last month (I’d always been Independent since changing from Republican sometime around 1990) and drove over to the post office yesterday to pick up the ballot. Someone at the Thumbprint art gallery show for Bernie Sanders last weekend reminded me that it was probably in the box, “I’ve already voted,” said the tall skinny kid that looked like he was barely out of high school, and I made the trip out to my p.o. box this month. So much is done by email these days I hardly every check my regular mail it seems. Used to be I’d be there every day picking up letters and CDs from bands and press agents hoping to get reviewed. Ah the good old days of ten or twelve short years ago. I remember coming back from a surf trip in 2000 and having a postal crate packed full of CDs stacked high, mostly from Epitaph, Nitro, and Fat Wreck Chords, that were patiently waiting for me behind the counter. Crazy the amount of work that went into reviewing music back then. Now it’s mostly all done online for free by fans. Maybe they’ll begin to do elections online soon too.

So here’s my ballot envelope. Here goes nothing, democracy. Let’s hope for the best. The future is now.

California Democratic Primary election ballot envelope, about to be mailed, 5-15-16.

California Democratic Primary election ballot envelope, about to be mailed, 5-15-16.

on TTL-less high-speed lenses

[Update]

photolog: 50mm f1.4

by Reviewer Rob

I was shooting photos in a bar (Casbah SD) and on the street last night with 1970’s Nikon lens technology mounted on my sturdy D5200. Even before I went digital 11 years ago I preferred either 200mm or wide-angle fisheye lenses so this 50mm has been stored in my camera bag with only intermittent usage since like 1991, for a long long time, but I finally decided to break it out for novelty purposes and to begin taking advantage of its f1.4 capability again for low light environments. I like the way things look but you just have to do everything like flash and focus manually of course and not through the camera’s ttl system.


My old school glass,

My old school glass.

I think this band was called Idylwyld, and that the singer mentioned something about Scotland...

I think this band was called Idylwyld, and that the singer mentioned something about Scotland…

50mm, f1.4, about 200th/sec, really high ISO

50mm, f1.4, about 200th/sec, really high ISO

with camera flash, stopped down to like f8 at maybe 250th of a sec

with camera flash, stopped down to like f8 at maybe 250th of a sec

camera flash reduced, at f1.4 and 250th of a sec, I think... lots of Photoshop balancing here...

camera flash reduced, at f1.4 and 250th of a sec, I think… lots of Photoshop balancing here…

Casbah urinal stickers, at f1.4, manally everything.

Casbah urinal stickers, at f1.4, manally everything.

One of the main reasons to visit the Casbah SD of course is to view the outstanding wall art in the hallway. Here's one of the posters announcing an upcoming show... shot at f1.4, handheld at ISO 25600 and 250th of a second...

One of the main reasons to visit the Casbah SD of course is to view the outstanding wall art in the hallway. Here’s one of the posters announcing an upcoming show… shot at f1.4, handheld at ISO 25600 and 250th of a second…