COMMUNICATE

Send a message.
Ask, advise, comment, volunteer, inform, gripe, complain, threaten or pester... Send us at REVIEWER MAGAZINE your tender love note. Want to be heard? You can!
:::

Reviewer TV


Watch:

Vimeo
Youtube


:::

Join Us, Won’t You?

ReviewerTV
Subscriptions

$5 per month or $40 per year, recurring, you can cancel easily at any time:


Memberships: monthly or annual, cancel easily any time.



:::

Reviewer TV

Members Videos

:::

In Print

PDFs of recent issues of Reviewer Magazine in print:

#50,

#49,

#48,

#47,

#46,

#45,

#44,

#43,

#42,

#41

#40,

#39,

#38

:::

Most Recent Items

Reviewer TV

Members Videos

:::

In Print

PDFs of recent issues of Reviewer Magazine in print:

#50,

#49,

#48,

#47,

#46,

#45,

#44,

#43,

#42,

#41

#40,

#39,

#38

:::

Stormy Daniels' 2007 video interview transcription

[Verbatim]

Stormy Daniels, in her own words

photos and video by the totally amazing Reviewer Rob

President Donald Trump’s nemesis Stormy Daniels interviewed on video for Reviewer TV behind-the-scenes at a strip club in like 2007, after they hooked up but before she was famous for it.

The one-time paramour of our current Commander-In-Chief was interviewed in 2007 or so by Reviewer Rob. Here’s the transcription we were finally able to wrangle.

Stormy Daniels performing her signature floorwork moves onstage at Deja Vu Midway in San Diego, sometime in August 2007 (approx) the night the Reviewer TV video interview posted below was shot, photos and video by Reviewer Rob.

Stormy Daniels performing her signature floorwork moves onstage at Deja Vu Midway in San Diego, sometime in August 2007 (approx) the night the Reviewer TV video interview posted below was shot, photos and video by Reviewer Rob.

Stormy: And my answer was, “Well if you don’t watch it, how do you know who I am?”

Rob: Yeah, exactly.

Stormy: And, uh, he called me a whore. And I told him, “Excuse me! That’s rich, successful whore.”

[To watch the video scroll to the bottom of the page.]

Stormy: It’s hard when it’s no alcohol, for them to make a lot of noise, but — they were tipping.

Reviewer Rob: Well, there’s going to be Dreamgirls, you gonna go to Dreamgirls and shoot, or?

Stormy: Yeah, I think Friday.

Reviewer Rob: Okay…

Stormy: Or Saturday, I can’t remember what day.

Rob: Good.. Good, That’s one of our, uh, headliner titty bars. They get really liquored up there. You got a gun shop and a Harley dealership right down the street.

Stormy: (Laughs) Great. (laughs) Those are my people though, it’s okay.

Rob: (Laughs)

Rob: So you’re on the Maroon 5 video, huh?

Stormy: Uh huh.

Rob: How did you meet those guys? How did that come about?

Stormy: Um, I went to an audition, and auditioned with like 200 other girls.

Rob: Oh wow, full-on cattle call, huh?

Stormy: And uh, they picked me for a part.

Rob: Yeah?

Stormy: And then I met the guys of course, on set, and they were all really cool and really nice.

Rob: Were they like, ya know, totally in awe of you because you’re an adult film actress?

Stormy: Umm, two of them told me that they were big fans.

Rob: Oh man.

Stormy Daniels: But they were trying to play it cool, they were really nice guys. And I think they all had girlfriends so they were totally respectful.

Rob: Oh okay, so, you weren’t like… you didn’t feel like too creepy around them..

Stormy: No, no, not at all. Not at all. And, uh, the lead singer and I have the same birthday so..

Rob: Really?

Stormy: Yeah but he’s actually a year younger than me, crazy.

Rob: Oh okay, okay.. well that’s not too bad. Um, do you ever…You live in Hollywood right? Or you live in L.A.?

Stormy: Uh huh, I do.

Rob: Do you ever get like freaked out when like fans see you in the local bars or out at the shopping center and their like, “Oh my god, oh my god you’re Stormy Daniels!” And they’re all like freaking out.

Stormy: Um, not really. Uh, fans are usually very very respectful. I haven’t had a bad experience out in public with a fan, um, I’ve only had one person in the whole five years that I’ve been doing, uh, porn come up and tell me that I was going to go to hell and that I should be ashamed of myself.

Rob: No way!

Stormy: And my answer was, “Well if you don’t watch it, how do you know who I am?”

Rob: Yeah, exactly.

Stormy: And, uh, he called me a whore. And I told him, “Excuse me! That’s rich, successful whore.”

Rob: (Laughs) Yeah, right.. (UNINTELLIGBLE LINE)

Stormy: But usually fans are really really cool, and really respectful, and they’re really conscious of the fact that I may be around people who don’t know what I do, and usually they just come over and say, “I really like your work, I’m a big fan.” And then they go about their business.

Rob: Well, I mean, you do get paid to have sex. I mean, and you were on the HBO “Real Sex” video. Or show.

Stormy: Uh huh.

Rob: I mean, that’s a big deal, like that’s a huge huge market. How did you like that, I mean what was that like?

Stormy: It was really cool. That was a LONG time ago.

Rob: Was it?

Stormy: That was like 7 years ago that I was on the real sex, and it was actually before I did porn. And they followed me at, actually a stripper contest that I was doing. And leading, um, from that I met the producers, and that’s how I got on Pornocopia.

Rob: Pornocopia…

Stormy: Pornocopia, is what turned out to be a really huge thing for my career. Because, it actually still airs all the time now.

Rob: Tell our listening viewers what Pornocopia is all about.

Stormy: Uh, Pornocopia was a six-series special just about everything in the adult industry, and they followed me during the filming of “Space Nuts” Which was one of the biggest movies I’ve ever shot up until now. Now my biggest movie is, Operation Desert Stormy, which comes out September 19th.

Rob: And is that porn, or is that mainstream?

Stormy. It’s porn.

Rob: Well, you’re also a cross over actress.. I mean you were in the 40 -year old virgin right?

Stormy: Mhm.

Rob: You were in Knocked Up… And Super Bad, from Sony, uh, pictures.

Stormy: Uh-huh.

Rob: Uh, what was that like? Tell us about your part in the 40-year old virgin. Because everybody is familiar with Steve, uh, what’s his name? Steve, uh..

Stormy: Steve Carell.

Rob: Yeah, Steve Carell, from The Office. Great TV show by the way.

Stormy: Yeah! He’s a very very funny guy. 40-year old virgin was the same thing, I went to a casting call and there was 411 girls, and I got the part… And they liked me so much, uh, in 40-year old virgin that the producers invited me back, without auditioning, for Knocked Up… And after I shot Knocked Up, same thing, I was just sort of “in the gang” so then I ended up shooting, um, DVD extras for Super Bad, and I’m also in their two upcoming movies, The Pineapple Express, and Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

Rob: Oh, wow.

Stormy: So now they just sort of call me, and luckily, since the 40-year old virgin I haven’t actually had to audition again.

Rob: So, is porn going to lose you? Like, are you going to go completely mainstream or something?

Stormy: (laughs) Absolutely not.

Rob: You just love porn, huh?

Stormy: I do, I do a lot of mainstream work, I really enjoy all the mainstream work that I do, I was on, you know, dirt with Courtney Cox, which was ya know huge. Not many porn actresses can say that they were in three number one comedies and that they’ve shared actual screen time with Steve Carell, Will Farrell, Courtney Cox, uh Seth Rogan, Paul Rudd. To actually be in scenes with actors of that caliber is very huge, um but, I’m not gonna to leave porn because I’m not that pretentious to think like, “Oh, now I’m a mainstream actress.” Because let’s face it, I’m not Meryl Streep.

Rob: Awwww…

Stormy: And I enjoy what I’m doing, And I can’t imagine turning my back on an industry that’s been so good to me for so long.

Rob: Were you able to actual meet Steve Carell, and uh, Will Ferell, and Courtney Cox?

Stormy: Uh-huh.

Rob: Did you hang out and bro-down with them, did you have drinks, at like, ya know, the Viper room, or what? I mean how did you..?

Stormy: Yeah, yeah I’ve hung over with them, and..

Rob: Really?!

Stormy: And I’d have to say out of all the celebrities that have ever met, Courtney Cox is one of the most genuine, down to earth people that I have ever met, I’ve you know… She invited into her home for dinner, things like that.

Rob: Oh, wow! That’s a big deal.

Stormy: Her and her husband, David Arquette, were very very gracious and very nice. And, uh..

Rob: Really? You had dinner with them at their house huh? Pretty cool.

Stormy: They were very very loving, and ya know.

Rob: That’s good!

Rob: Well, uh, do you have any, like, tips for aspiring actresses, in porn or not, that want to go to cattle calls and auditions and stuff? How do you ace these auditions. I mean..?

Stormy: Um..

Rob: I mean obviously you’re talented and stuff.

Stormy: Auditions are hard. You have to do something to set yourself apart from all the other girls. Um, and just looking beautiful isn’t… Isn’t enough. Like, you have to be really outgoing, not afraid to um… say something silly. I was pretty sure that I had blew the audition for the Maroon 5 video, um..

Rob: Why? What happened?

Stormy: Um, I accidentally insulted the band and started a fight. So… (laughs)

Rob: You started a fight with what? You actually you got in a fight, or?

Stormy: Another girl..

Rob: She got in a fight or…?

Stormy: Yeah.. with another girl, who said something rude to me. And instead of sitting there and just taking it like anyone else would do, because they are thinking they have to be on their best behavior, because it’s audition.. I spoke up and told her to.. “Shut the F up.” And, um..

Rob: Okay, so it wasn’t like you were clawing, and beating, and pulling hair or anything. It was just like…

Stormy: No. No.

Rob: (UNINTELLIGBLE) It was like an overlay, and getting back up and stuff.. Okay.)

Stormy: Right, right. And I think if you know, personality is what sells it, because they want to see that you’re not gonna be stiff on camera.

Rob: Well you seem very na- I mean you seem very comfortable right now, with the interview, and then on stage stuff, you’ve got a very good persona and you seem natural in a lot of other ways too… (Points camera at breasts) I mean, you’re totally natural right?

Stormy: No!

Rob: No?? Huh?

Stormy: (laughs) No! they’re not real.

Rob: No kidding, okay?

Stormy: But they’re really mine, and I have the receipt!

Rob: Okay, there ya go! I mean, they’re paid for, so they’re definetely yours.

Rob: Um, and you’ve been with, uh, you’ve been a Penthouse Pet right?

Stormy: uh-huh.

Rob: You’ve got the key. Around your neck.

Stormy: I got my penthouse key. I’m going for pet of the year this year so everybody remember to vote for me, for penthouse pet of the year.

Rob: Vote early, vote often.

Stormy: Vote A LOT! Because I want it.

Rob: (laughs)

Stormy: Because then I get to trade this one in (holds up key necklace) for a diamond one.

Rob: Awesome.

Stormy: And, um, I think i need it.

Rob: Would look good on you.

Stormy: And I have..Penthouse pet, Hustler cover girl, um, And i’ve been with Wicked Pictures for five years. Everythings going great.

Rob: Awesome. How do you like working at De Ja Vu tonight? Tonights the 15th of August, they’re having their, uh, 15 year anniversary.. So you’re they’re showline.. they’re.. Headline girl…

Stormy: Yeah! Good stuff.

Rob: Headline Showgirl.

Stormy: Um…

(Girls wooping in the backround, camera moves to club monitors.)

Rob: What’s going on here…

Stormy: (smiles) Apparently they really like each other..

Stormy: It’s pretty cool, I’ve been sitting back here um, watching the spy monitors all night.

Rob: Yeah! They’ve got spy monitors back here, we can like, check out what’s going on all over the place.

Stormy: I know, I wanna find… I wanna see the ones from the girls dressing room.

Rob: Well that’s what we’re looking at. But, oh no, no, wait… That’s the front door, okay..

Stormy: But, no, it’s really cool to be here at DejaVu, they’ve been good to me throughout the years, i’ve done several DeJavu and Hustler clubs, and uh, i’m pretty excited it’s my first time to perform down here in San Diego, and I’ve been getting tons and tons of e-mails for the last two weeks from all the fans saying they were gonna come out, and see me, so i’m very excited.

Rob: So, is San Diego is a small town compared to Hollywood? Is this your first time here? Have you ever been down like, hanging out on the beach?

Stormy: Oh, no, no, no. This is not a small town. (laughs) This is not a small town.

Rob: Well, thank you.

Stormy: Um, small towns are, ya know, the places that I go to beside truck stops in West Virginia. Those are small towns!

Rob: (laughs)

Stormy: And, you know, believe it or not, I actually make a lot of money in places like that.

Rob: Do you like those people?? I mean, is that a cool place to go??

Stormy: Those people are some of my favorites! Because, um, here in California they’re used to seeing blondes with big boobs, especially in L.A. they’re used to seeing porn stars, the guys are a little jaded. Um, it takes a lot to impress them. But, you go to a small town, ya know, um, in the middle of nowhere, in Iowa, or West Virginia, or Louisiana, and they’re just so excited and thankful that someone came to their town that they’re extremely nice and generous, and they hoop and holler and have a great time, just because they’re so excited. They’re not “too cool”.

Rob: Yeah, well I mean, you kind of come across as an authentic small town girl, are you from a small town?

Stormy: I am from Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Rob: Where is that?

Stormy: Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Rob: Ohhh, okay, well see there ya go, you know that whole psychology of people that are not like trying to be, uh, big media stars, they’re not like working for their next media role and stuff, in a movie and stuff, and you can idenitify.

Stormy: They’re just there to have a good time, and i’m here to show them a good time, so it works out perfectly.

Rob: And you do that, you do that so well.

Rob: Alright well, thank you for the interview, Stormy.

Stormy: Thank you!

Rob: It was nice to meet you.. and thank you for the photos.

uh oh.. Is that our interviewer?

Stormy: Yeah..

Rob. Who is that?

She’s gonna be bummed out that she missed an interview..

Stormy: Yeah, I gotta go on stage now..

Rob: Oh, do you really? Ok… Could we get a little video clip of you on stage, dancing??!

Stormy: Uh-huh.

Rob: Awesome!

Stormy: Alright, thank you!

Rob. You’re an awesome girl, thank you!

Bread and circuses in the age of Trump

[Review]

The Era Of ONLY TRUMP

What are they keeping from us with this parade of shame?

It’s “Trump this” and “Trump that” all day long on lazy CNN and MSNBC. Let the Mueller investigation take its course and cover other important stuff too! Because meanwhile the wealth gap between the one percent and everyone else continues to soar, housing is less and less afforaldable to the average American, people are paying way too much for their health and education, our online privacy is constantly violated by government surveillance — and a hundred-and-one OTHER THINGS need to be addressed by the media in the news… But hey what we really have to see 24/7 are more of the daily antics of Donald J. Trump! WAY TO GO MAINSTREAM MEDIA!!!

Bread and circuses.

Bread and circuses.

Help wanted! Email Editor@ReviewerMagazine.com.

[Gig Offered]

Clerical

Help wanted! Gig Offered! Email Editor@ReviewerMagazine.com.

HELP WANTED! My business has grown to the point where I need someone who is good at accounting AND who knows Microsoft Office really well. Pay is on a sliding scale of whatever we agree upon, usually like $20 to $25 per hour on a gig-by-gig basis. I HAVE LOTS OF DATA ENTRY AND VIDEO TRANSCRIPTION TOO, SAME RATE. Potential candidates must be local to San Diego or Los Angeles, preferably from close to the beach communities where I always am. College grad is fine but I simply need someone who knows how to do Excel spreadsheets in their sleep, someone with a good resume and solid references. If that’s not you maybe it’s someone you know… refer me to them or them to me! PLEASE SOMEONE HELP!

~Editor

Help wanted! Email Editor@ReviewerMagazine.com.

Help wanted! Email Editor@ReviewerMagazine.com.

Sober: Ben Johnson -- the Kicking Addiction interview

[Transcript]

Sober: Ben Johnson


Ben is one of the owners of the legendary San Diego Casbah and bartends there when he’s not playing locally in one of his bands.

We did a video interview for Reviewer TV because it’s uncommon for someone who is totally immersed in the saloon lifestyle to be a complete non-drinker when his life is so economically tied to alcohol.

(The video version of this interview was uploaded July 30, 2017, and is posted at the bottom of the page. ~Editor)

Sober bar owner, bartender, band leader, novelist, movie producer, among other things, Ben Johnson at the Casbah where he's being interviewed for Reviewer TV.

Sober bar owner, bartender, punkrock band leader, self-published novelist, movie script writer and producer, among other things, Ben Johnson at the Casbah where he’s being interviewed for Reviewer TV.

Reviewer Rob

Rob: Yeah, so the idea is, um, basically it’s gonna be about, uh, recovery, and what I’d like to do is interview different people that were able to, uh, overcome addiction, in various ways, and, also —

Ben: Did you quit drinking also?

Rob: Not fully, not that… At least it’s not killing me now.

Ben: Why are you interested in it?

Rob: Um, I think there’s a big need for, ya know, especially like with the opiate addiction and stuff, pills and stuff, that is kind of wrecking middle America, and a lot of different cities in the country and stuff, and the pharmaceuticals. Because that might not have been your Jones, but —

Ben: Oh, I, like, my longest term girlfriend, before Monique, who I’m married to now, who I went out with for, five-plus years, but she got really heavy into first pills and then the logical progression…

Rob: How is she now?

Ben: She’s finally clean.

Rob: How’d she get out of it?
(A woman interrupts to talk with Ben, hands him tickets or a flier or something and he leans across the bar to speak with her and thank her, as a guitar plays the opening riffs of Day Tripper by The Beatles in the background from the band warming up with sound-check. The music abruptly stops as Ben and her finish and he returns to the interview.)

Rob: So, yeah, um, I’m interested in like interviewing individual people that are overcoming addiction, and also getting interviews with like, different organizations like everyone from Father Joe’s to Salvation Army that provide rehab services and you know, getting that angle too.

Ben: Right.

Rob: Maybe interviewing people that are currently struggling, or helping people that are currently struggling.

Ben: (nods) Mhm.

Rob: Things like that.

Ben: Yeah, cool, I’m into it. Yeah. Totally.

Rob: Okay, good good. Thanks.

Ben: Yeah I mean, yeah I was never part of a program, I just like removed all other options from my mind.

Rob: Really?

Ben: Yeah. Because that was kind of the way that worked for me. I didn’t really, I didn’t really want to take that whole chunk of time out of my life, that, not necessarily, like that, being in a program seems to, like, kind of go hand and hand with. Like, people do it everyday, working everyday, you can go how often you want, But I just, I didn’t want my not drinking to just be my social life all of the sudden. Like, I kind of wanted to have my same social life but just exorcise that one thing, which is the negative thing.

Rob: A lot of people seem to need to get out of their peer group and kind of remove themselves from that, uh, environment, but you didn’t seem to do that. You didn’t have to do that?

Ben: I liked my peer group.

Rob: But it wasn’t a detriment to you too?

Ben: I mean, uh, it didn’t, it didn’t in any way pose an obstacle to my successfully doing it. Because I just, like I said, I just absolutely removed the option from my mind. If like I… well a lot of it has to do with how much money I make here, and I can’t just — I dropped out of high school. I can’t go make this money somewhere, just whenever — ya know?

(A person walks up out-of-frame and Ben reaches his hand across the bar.)
Ben: (to customer) Hey Buddy, how are you? (shakes hand) Good to see you.

Ben: (returns to conversation) So, that was like, I can’t quit my job! So I’m gonna have to be around booze, so I’m gonna have to deal with it. I play music. I mean that’s like pretty much the one fringe benefit that’s free of playing in clubs all the time, is that you get free drinks. Ya know, you don’t get… You might not get paid, but you’re gonna get a couple free drinks, you know what I mean? So, yeah. I mean I’ve been playing long enough that I generally do get paid, or would get paid, but ya know (laughs) you know what I’m saying.

Rob: Was there like a moment, like an epiphany moment for you, where you realized that you had to change?

Ben: That was when I, well yeah I told you in a text, I was working at Lancers for about a year, and I would just go in and start doing shots at like 9 in the morning and drinking, fuckin’ drinkin, drink drink drink drink! I mean I drank SO much, it was actually very difficult to keep up drinking as much as I needed to drink because I did not want to sober up because then I would have the mother of all hangovers. I couldn’t do that. So I just had to keep drinking, and drinking, and drinking, it was like even if I would go out I would have to go by the liquor store and grab a beer and huff it in the parking lot, and then go out. You know? I’d be constantly drinking, absolutely constantly drinking.

Rob: When was this? How long ago?

Ben: This was for… I lived like that for about ten years.

Rob: Uh huh.

Ben: Yeah.

Rob: And you were working here too?

Ben: Up until I turned 35. That’s when I quit drinking. I’m 47 now. And I was working here too. Oh yeah, I drank so much when I worked here, just fuckin’ absolutely polluted all the time. But so was everyone else when I was working here at the time. Now it’s not like that, but it sure was back then. It was full on wild west, so…

Rob: Where there a rough period, when you had to transition from drinking to not drinking?

Ben: Oh yeah! I mean, oh, there was a super rough period, I actually tried to quit one time but I made it about four months , and I thought.. like “Oh fuck it, I can have a beer with dinner or something.” And then just — (explosive gesture). That didn’t work out. So then, about a year later, when I started that first four-month period, one year later then I, uh, I did it again and that’s when.. I was working at Lancers for about a year, and used to drink all the time, and kinda closeted. But ya know, kinda not, and then I passed out drunk for like the second time, where people were coming in and like trying to poke me and going and like, leaving money by the till, and I would wake up and be like, “What’s this money?” Ya know? And so, the second time I got woken up by the girl who was supposed to come in later, about four hours later, but she had to come in early and then uh, and I was drunk. I went and passed out. Called my boss later and said, “Do I still have my job?”, and he said, “FUCK NO!” And I said, “Okay, fair enough.” And then I talked to my girlfriend, who’s now my wife, and I was like, “Well, ya know, I kind of have to quit drinking now.” And she said, “Well, okay, can you just slow down?” And I said, “No, I absolutely have to quit drinking. “It’s the only thing I can do, and you know this bad thing happened and it’s about to ruin our relationship.” And I said you know, all this and that and the other. It would ruin my playing music and my job I like, which is the job here. And then I was just like, ya know, it’s time. The one wheel that fell of is the extraneous piece of shit wheel I didn’t care about. I actually did not like that job.

Rob: Oh, okay..

Ben: It was a daytime bartending job, ya know, you could get the same joke, same stories everyday from the same five guys. It just sucked.

Rob: That was the one wheel off, Lancers?

Ben: Lancers, yeah. So then I said, “Well?” and she asked me, “How are you gonna quit drinking?” and I said “Well, I’m gonna go.” We were actually going through a rough patch, because I was drinking so much, she was living over with, well, behind her sister where we both were living for a while but I was living with a friend of mine where we used to practice music, and so I said, well, I’m just going to get a shit load of beer, and I’m going to drink from now, Friday night, until Monday morning just, I’m gonna drink. That’s all I’m gonna do is drink. And then I’m gonna wake up Monday morning and I’m never gonna drink again as long as I live. And that’s what I did. That was 12 years ago.

Rob: Was anybody else in your life, like your girlfriend, or your brother, or any family members telling you, “You need to stop drinking”?

Ben: Uh, yeah. But not any intervention thing, they were just like, “Jesus Christ, dude? What are you fucking doing?” Ya know? “You’re 35 years old, and you’re like, what the fuck are you fucking doing?” Ya know.. “Get it together.” And I’m all like, “Fuck you! You fucking assholes!” And I was just like, ya know, no one could tell me shit. And uh, so, until then, I just did it. And I just removed that thing from life that was holding me back. And I’ve been on a humongously productive tear ever since then. Because I threw my energy into all the, I, I, looked into it as a fork in the road where I can continue to have my hopes and dreams and the creative things that I wanted to do since I was a kid like write books and make movies, and be in, like, playing music, and all that stuff, or I can shelve all that and just continue drinking the way I’m drinking and probably, ya know, drink myself out of a girlfriend, and bands, and job, and house, probably…

Rob: You’d be washed up by 40.

Ben: Yeah, I mean like, exactly. Like washed up before 40 years old. Just hit the gutter kid, you’re done. So rather than doing that, I wanted to keep doing all the shit! (laughs) And keep my relationships intact, and all that stuff. So, um…

Rob: And no turning back, you’ve never had any temptation to slide back, huh?

Ben: Not since then, really. No, not at all. I mean you’ve gotta understand, detoxing after you’ve been drinking that long is so incredibly painful. The night sweats, and I got fuckin’ staph infections all over my body, like peppered with fucking infections, all over my lower area —

Rob: Really?

Ben: — I have a big fuckin’ crater in my ass because of it.. And I just, I just.. and I constantly just felt sick, just so sick, ya know? And just can’t get over this awful, sickness. It just starts right in your fucking little pitted area (holds fingers of both hands at his abdomen) and just spreads throughout your bodym and just this gross fucking sickness. So, first of all, I never wanna go through that again! Second of all, I mean I don’t even really regret drinking, in even the amount I drank, because I did have a lot of fucking fun, ya know? But when it was time to fucking quit it… It’s like you have finite amount of drinks in your life. (holds arms apart, out wide) I mean, maybe you can drink until your 90, if you start when your 21, and this kind of shit — OR, you’re gonna drink like I drink and have 15 years of intensive drinking, and then not really. And I feel like I did that so much to death, that my reality was this, this ya know quagmire, kind of, and I just like… Okay I have that, and now I’m in this place where my thinking is clear, my focus is laser like, I know what I want to do…
(loud electric organ type music or something starts up in background)

Rob: So, working in a bar, being you know behind the bar and you’re part-owner of the Casbah, you see a lot of people probably that are kind of in a bad way, I mean, do you ever feel like telling them like, “Hey, why don’t you cut back a little bit? Why, don’t you like…?” Do you ever feel…?

Ben: Well first of all, fewer then you would think, who I see here at this job, it’s not like a neighborhood bar, you have to pay a cover to get in and stuff, so if you’re a ‘drinker drinker’ you’re not gonna fuckin’, like, you’re not going to very many clubs, unless their free, ya know what I mean? Everything was free for me when I was drinking that much. Like I usually don’t see huge problem drinkers when I’m here, and when I do — I mean not that I don’t — and no, I don’t, because it’s not my job to intervene. If someone wants to come to me and say, “Hey man, I need help. I need your suggestions for how I can help myself.” I’ll say, “Fuck yeah!” But it’s not my place to tell people that they should not be doing what they’re doing because if anybody told me, that kinda shit, when I was just some Joe-Blow fuckin’ bartender I’d say, “Suck my fuckin’ dick!” And they would deserve to hear that shit. So fuck that! I don’t go giving my opinion to motherfuckers that I don’t even hardly know. At all. That is not the way that I’m gonna do things ever. But if somebody wants help, fuck yeah. I will take some time to help that person.

Rob: What are the best organizations in town that you’ve heard about, but maybe don’t have personal experience with, that maybe are offering adult rehab services that people? Like, have you…?

Ben: My knowledge of those is almost nonexistent.

Rob: Really, nothing? Oh, okay.

Ben: Nah.

Rob: You don’t know anyone who’s ever had any success with those?

Ben: The only thing that I know that people do is AA, I mean, and NA.

Rob: Did you ever go to AA, or NA?

Ben: Only because I got a DUI in 1999 and it was court-mandated. When I quit drinking. No.

Rob: Okay.

Ben: I did court-mandated things until, I couldn’t. I did like two and then I just forged signatures after that. I couldn’t hang with the meetings. (laughs)

Rob: Right on.

Ben: (laughs) So there ya go, there’s my complicity.

Rob: Thanks Ben.

Ben: Right on, dude.

Sober – Ben Johnson from Reviewer on Vimeo.

Jenni Bombshell in a 2007 members video

[Members Content]

BBW Jenni Bombshell

That time Reviewer TV talked to Big Hot Bombshell Jenni

Reviewer Rob

Check it out, sportsfans. I found this archive video of Jenni Bombshell from 2007 or so. It’s an interesting sociological study in body acceptance, and all that. Plus she’s such a cutie…

Around ten years ago back in the mid-aughts ginormous obese women where a thing on the interwebs. I assume there still are whole genres of adult entertainment devoted to them and message boards and chatrooms filled with their admirers paying millions of dollars collectively to be members on websites where these models interact.

Jenny Bombshell was one such “Big Beautiful Woman” (“BBW” in the the adult industry lingo). I got to know her a year before this when she was an apartment manager in Ocean Beach, San Diego, and I needed a new place to live. A condo conversion sale of my rental’s complex was forcing me to move and time was running out. Jenny took my application to the owner who rented to me a nice 2-bedroom apartment with an ocean view.

She was a unique and unique charming and incredibly FAT woman (I think she might’ve tipped the scales at 500 pounds!). I later found out Jenni was internet famous in the world of adult entertainment BBWs. But she was also at the same time living a life of normalcy outside of the word of fat girl fetish, and she never mingled the two — until this interview for Reviewer TV. The file details have August 21 2007 as the earliest available date for it so that sounds about right.

If you’re not already a members you can join for a couple of bucks.

Video | Members | Join

Jenny Bombshell

Jenny Bombshell

Shopgirl Jules Describes Her Ink

[Members Video]

Eight Tattoos

I met Jules when I was on a bike ride on North Seattle along a beach called Ballard. It was a gorgeous summer day and the vibe could not be better. Being a Southern Californian and a lapsed surfer I was happy to see a surf shop amid the boat docks and made a beeline to it. Jules was at the counter talking to customers and after they left she commented on my minimalist sneakers. Turns out she’s a runner and I’d had these shoes for about a year and she was the first person to recognise the style. A couple of days later we met at Alki Beach at her suggestion. It was low tide and the pebbly beach was relatively wide. Alki Beach is an historic location because it’s considered the “birthplace of Seattle” with million-dollar teardowns lining the main street along the shore. I also took some photos of the Space Needle from there the night before we met because it’s where the Seattle skyline is prominently viewable. To the west are breathtaking views of the Olympic Mountains.

Jules has eight tattoos, all traditional blueish-black ink, but she planning more, including a left arm sleeve in full color from shoulder to elbow and a stomach piece that is heavy with local and family symbolism that will feature Mt. Hood. Members can click the Video link below to hear this fine Seattlite’s story. If you’re not already a member please join us.

Video | Members | Join

Tattoo talk: shopgirl Jules from Ballard Surf in Seattle relates about her ink stories.

Tattoo talk: shopgirl Jules from Ballard Surf in Seattle relates about her ink stories.

Shooting an art model in her Seattle basement artist studio

[Members Video]

With Katlyn

Reviewer Rob

There’s a couple of Members videos (two of them) that we shot while doing the photos with art model Katlyn in Seattle last week. They’re HERE. If you’re not yet a member you can join on for a small monthly fee on this page.

Videos | Join | Members


Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Will The Artist-Friendly Rental Economy Ever Return?

Airbnb Economic Trends

Will the Trump-era prove harmful to landlords? Having sympathy for the wealthy, while pushing their real estate schemes in a downward direction.

Reviewer Rob

Mission Beach, above the seagulls.

Mission Beach, above the seagulls. From the article in the Union Tribune.

According to this article in the UT, under a new San Diego city council action, Airbnb short-term rentals of whole homes there will be limited to “one’s primary residence only for up to six months out of the year. While there had been a move afoot to consider exempting the Mission Beach rentals that had been paying required transient occupancy taxes to the city, the council majority was unwilling to legislate any waivers.”

Many landlords are worried that this will diminish profits to the point where they would have to consider selling.

So sad. Let us pity the wealthy. It would be tragic if they had to sell their investment properties at a loss and then the new owners reduced the rents to a market rate that re-attracted artists and other working class people who had the time then to be creative and have and actual life instead of working to pay a rent that was more than fifty percent of their monthly take-home pay.

If this new ordinance does what it sounds like it’ll do, that is, regulate in a downward direction the growing AirB&B trend in San Diego and especially the beach areas, then GREAT. Anything to slow and possibly REVERSE the rising rents in that sunny Southern Californian community. The great and political collusion among the landlord classes there is stunning and unabated.

Perhaps it’s too much to ask that, nationwide, the municipal zoning laws return with the form of rent control seen in the post-New Deal era that led to cold-water flats in New York City being rented out to working class off-broadway actors for $28 per-month that persisted under the radar until this past March. But if it does then all the better. The arts are dying because of the rental economy. It’s time for the wrestling match to see a reversal.

Shopgirl Jules

Northwest Summer

Shop girl Jules, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18, Nikon D5300, ISO 100, 10-24mm Tamron 3.5-4.5 lens, 17mm focal length, f11 @ 1/160th.

Jules, Puget Sound, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18.

Jules, Puget Sound, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18.

Seattle's downtown from Alki Beach

Night Shooting

Reviewer Rob

After my bike ride at Alki Beach at sunset I shot some night photos with my tripod and a couple of telephotos.

You can click the pics for larger.

Space Needle,  Nikin D5300, 400 iso, 400mm Sigma analog lens @ f4 1/30 sec.

Space Needle, Nikin D5300, 400 iso, 400mm Sigma analog lens @ f4 1/30 sec.

Seattle's downtown, Nikon D5300, 400 iso, Tamron digital lens at 200mm, f2.8 1/60 sec.

Seattle’s downtown, Nikon D5300, 400 iso, Tamron digital lens at 200mm, f2.8 1/60 sec.