COMMUNICATE

Send a message.
Ask, advise, comment, volunteer, inform, gripe, complain, threaten or pester... Send us at REVIEWER MAGAZINE your tender love note. Want to be heard? You can!
:::

Reviewer TV


Watch:

Vimeo
Youtube


:::

Join Us, Won’t You?

ReviewerTV
Subscriptions

$5 per month or $40 per year, recurring, you can cancel easily at any time:


Memberships: monthly or annual, cancel easily any time.



:::

Reviewer TV

Members Videos

:::

In Print

PDFs of recent issues of Reviewer Magazine in print:

#50,

#49,

#48,

#47,

#46,

#45,

#44,

#43,

#42,

#41

#40,

#39,

#38

:::

Most Recent Items

Reviewer TV

Members Videos

:::

In Print

PDFs of recent issues of Reviewer Magazine in print:

#50,

#49,

#48,

#47,

#46,

#45,

#44,

#43,

#42,

#41

#40,

#39,

#38

:::

Shopgirl Jules Describes Her Ink

[Members Video]

Eight Tattoos

I met Jules when I was on a bike ride on North Seattle along a beach called Ballard. It was a gorgeous summer day and the vibe could not be better. Being a Southern Californian and a lapsed surfer I was happy to see a surf shop amid the boat docks and made a beeline to it. Jules was at the counter talking to customers and after they left she commented on my minimalist sneaker. Turns out she’s a runner and I’d had these shoes for about a year and she was the first person to recognise the style. A couple of days later we met at Alki Beach at her suggestion. It was low tide and the pebbly beach was relatively wide. Alki Beach is an historic location because it’s considered the “birthplace of Seattle” with many million-dollar teardowns lining the main street along the shore. I also took some photos of the Space Needle from there the night before we met because it’s where the Seattle skyline is prominently viewable. To the west are breathtaking views of the Olympic Mountains.

Jules has eight tattoos, all traditional blueish-black ink, but she planning more, including a left arm sleeve in full color from shoulder to elbow and a stomach piece that is heavy with local and family symbolism that will feature Mt. Hood. Members can click the Video link below to hear this fine Seattlite’s story. If you’re not already a member please join us.

Video | Members | Join

Tattoo talk: shopgirl Jules from Ballard Surf in Seattle relates about her ink stories.

Tattoo talk: shopgirl Jules from Ballard Surf in Seattle relates about her ink stories.

Shooting an art model in her Seattle basement artist studio

[Members Video]

With Katlyn

Reviewer Rob

There’s a couple of Members videos (two of them) that we shot while doing the photos with art model Katlyn in Seattle last week. They’re HERE. If you’re not yet a member you can join on for a small monthly fee on this page.

Videos | Join | Members


Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Kat in her art studio.

Will The Artist-Friendly Rental Economy Ever Return?

Airbnb Economic Trends

Will the Trump-era prove harmful to landlords? Having sympathy for the wealthy, while pushing their real estate schemes in a downward direction.

Reviewer Rob

Mission Beach, above the seagulls.

Mission Beach, above the seagulls. From the article in the Union Tribune.

According to this article in the UT, under a new San Diego city council action, Airbnb short-term rentals of whole homes there will be limited to “one’s primary residence only for up to six months out of the year. While there had been a move afoot to consider exempting the Mission Beach rentals that had been paying required transient occupancy taxes to the city, the council majority was unwilling to legislate any waivers.”

Many landlords are worried that this will diminish profits to the point where they would have to consider selling.

So sad. Let us pity the wealthy. It would be tragic if they had to sell their investment properties at a loss and then the new owners reduced the rents to a market rate that re-attracted artists and other working class people who had the time then to be creative and have and actual life instead of working to pay a rent that was more than fifty percent of their monthly take-home pay.

If this new ordinance does what it sounds like it’ll do, that is, regulate in a downward direction the growing AirB&B trend in San Diego and especially the beach areas, then GREAT. Anything to slow and possibly REVERSE the rising rents in that sunny Southern Californian community. The great and political collusion among the landlord classes there is stunning and unabated.

Perhaps it’s too much to ask that, nationwide, the municipal zoning laws return with the form of rent control seen in the post-New Deal era that led to cold-water flats in New York City being rented out to working class off-broadway actors for $28 per-month that persisted under the radar until this past March. But if it does then all the better. The arts are dying because of the rental economy. It’s time for the wrestling match to see a reversal.

Shopgirl Jules

Northwest Summer

Shop girl Jules, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18, Nikon D5300, ISO 100, 10-24mm Tamron 3.5-4.5 lens, 17mm focal length, f11 @ 1/160th.

Jules, Puget Sound, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18.

Jules, Puget Sound, Alki Beach, Seattle, 7-17-18.

Seattle's downtown from Alki Beach

Night Shooting

Reviewer Rob

After my bike ride at Alki Beach at sunset I shot some night photos with my tripod and a couple of telephotos.

You can click the pics for larger.

Space Needle,  Nikin D5300, 400 iso, 400mm Sigma analog lens @ f4 1/30 sec.

Space Needle, Nikin D5300, 400 iso, 400mm Sigma analog lens @ f4 1/30 sec.

Seattle's downtown, Nikon D5300, 400 iso, Tamron digital lens at 200mm, f2.8 1/60 sec.

Seattle’s downtown, Nikon D5300, 400 iso, Tamron digital lens at 200mm, f2.8 1/60 sec.

Seattle is nice, so there's that.

Enjoying the Northwest

Reviewer Rob

I went for a nice bike ride today along the Puget Sound. It was near Ballard, I think. It’s been a long-time goal of mine to get here and see this place, a real remarkable wonder of nature. Although it was a warm, sunny day and everything was perfect I have to say I was almost underwhelmed. Seemed like I was at the shore of a large lake and not a part of the Pacific Ocean. I guess technically the Sound is perhaps a separate body of water. But I had to reach down and scoop up a handful of wet gravel here to smell if it’s salt water. This really didn’t seem like to mighty Pacific, it was so calm and peaceful. The news reports were saying that this was going to be the hottest day of the year.

I’m uploading a behind-the-scenes video or two of my photo shoot the other day with K, a local art model (she works as a Seattle-based traveling nude model and also paints from her own photography so she’s an artist/photographer/model). The two black and whites posted below are from the shoot in her downtown Seattle basement art studio workspace. The videos are being uploaded to the Members folder here for Premium high rollers, SO JOIN UP.

#nowaves #seattlewashington #pugetsound #summerbikerides

Seattle beach day, 7-15-18.

Seattle beach day, 7-15-18.

Reclining art nude, Seattle, June 2018.

Reclining art nude, Seattle, June 2018.

Basement art studio nude.

Basement art studio nude.

Test Marketing The Unthinkable

When Is It Enough?

“Fascism does not need a majority – it typically comes to power with about forty percent support and then uses control and intimidation to consolidate that power.”

The past as prologue.

The past as prologue.

Reposted from the Facebook feed of Paul Kaufman

Fintan O’Toole wrote this yesterday in The Irish Times:

“To grasp what is going on in the world right now, we need to reflect on two things. One is that we are in a phase of trial runs. The other is that what is being trialled is fascism – a word that should be used carefully but not shirked when it is so clearly on the horizon. Forget “post-fascist” – what we are living with is pre-fascism.

It is easy to dismiss Donald Trump as an ignoramus, not least because he is. But he has an acute understanding of one thing: test marketing. He created himself in the gossip pages of the New York tabloids, where celebrity is manufactured by planting outrageous stories that you can later confirm or deny depending on how they go down. And he recreated himself in reality TV where the storylines can be adjusted according to the ratings. Put something out there, pull it back, adjust, go again.

Fascism doesn’t arise suddenly in an existing democracy. It is not easy to get people to give up their ideas of freedom and civility. You have to do trial runs that, if they are done well, serve two purposes. They get people used to something they may initially recoil from; and they allow you to refine and calibrate. This is what is happening now and we would be fools not to see it.

One of the basic tools of fascism is the rigging of elections – we’ve seen that trialled in the election of Trump, in the Brexit referendum and (less successfully) in the French presidential elections. Another is the generation of tribal identities, the division of society into mutually exclusive polarities.

Fascism does not need a majority – it typically comes to power with about forty percent support and then uses control and intimidation to consolidate that power. So it doesn’t matter if most people hate you, as long as your forty percent is fanatically committed. That’s been tested out too.

And fascism of course needs a propaganda machine so effective that it creates for its followers a universe of “alternative facts” impervious to unwanted realities. Again, the testing for this is very far advanced.

But when you’ve done all this, there is a crucial next step, usually the trickiest of all. You have to undermine moral boundaries, inure people to the acceptance of acts of extreme cruelty. Like hounds, people have to be blooded. They have to be given the taste for savagery.

Fascism does this by building up the sense of threat from a despised out-group. This allows the members of that group to be dehumanised. Once that has been achieved, you can gradually up the ante, working through the stages from breaking windows to extermination.

People have to be given the taste for savagery. Fascism does this by building up the sense of threat from a despised out-group.

It is this next step that is being test-marketed now. It is being done in Italy by the far-right leader and minister for the interior Matteo Salvini. How would it go down if we turn away boatloads of refugees? Let’s do a screening of the rough-cut of registering all the Roma and see what buttons the audience will press. And it has been trialled by Trump: let’s see how my fans feel about crying babies in cages. I wonder how it will go down with Rupert Murdoch.

To see, as most commentary has done, the deliberate traumatisation of migrant children as a “mistake” by Trump is culpable naivety. It is a trial run – and the trial has been a huge success. Trump’s claim last week that immigrants “infest” the US is a test-marketing of whether his fans are ready for the next step-up in language, which is of course “vermin”.

And the generation of images of toddlers being dragged from their parents is a test of whether those words can be turned into sounds and pictures. It was always an experiment – it ended (but only in part) because the results were in.

And the results are quite satisfactory. There is good news on two fronts. First, Rupert Murdoch is happy with it – his Fox News mouthpieces outdid themselves in barbaric crassness: making animal noises at the mention of a Down syndrome child, describing crying children as actors. They went the whole swinish hog: even the brown babies are liars. Those sobs of anguish are typical of the manipulative behaviour of the strangers coming to infest us – should we not fear a race whose very infants can be so devious?

Second, the hardcore fans loved it: Fifty-eight percent of Republicans are in favour of this brutality. Trump’s overall approval ratings are up to 42.5 per cent.
This is greatly encouraging for the pre-fascist agenda. The blooding process has begun within the democratic world. The muscles that the propaganda machines need for defending the indefensible are being toned up. Millions and millions of Europeans and Americans are learning to think the unthinkable.

So what if those black people drown in the sea? So what if those brown toddlers are scarred for life? They have already, in their minds, crossed the boundaries of morality. They are, like Macbeth, “yet but young in deed”. But the tests will be refined, the results analysed, the methods perfected, the messages sharpened. And then the deeds can follow.”

Let us protect our freedom with all our democratic power, and continue to be brave with everything we must face.”

[Members Video] Zak Smith/Zak Sabbath interview

Tales Of Darkness And Light

Full time artist and part time porn star Zak Smith, otherwise known as Zak Sabbath to adult entertainment fans, is interviewed at the Hard Rock Hotel during the 2018 AEE convention in Las Vegas

by Reviewer Rob

Members can listen to Zak as they watch the amazing full video interview on ReviewerTV HERE.

Los Angeles based American painter Zak Smith (a.k.a. the porn performer Zak Sabbath) being interviewed for ReviewerTV in January 2018 at AEE in Vegas at The Hard Rock Hotel by Reviewer Rob.

Los Angeles based American painter Zak Smith (a.k.a. the porn performer Zak Sabbath) being interviewed for ReviewerTV in January 2018 at AEE in Vegas at The Hard Rock Hotel by Reviewer Rob.

Going Private Members Only

Members Only

I’m going to upload the members’ videos to the website now rather than put them on all Vimeo. It’s easier to add a new member’s username and password to the website one time than it is to manually add a new viewer to each private video on Vimeo, where you have to first follow them and then select them for each individual video as you go along adding new files. I don’t see that as a viable way of doing things as the list of video and members continues to grow.

Recently shot videos are being uploaded in their original hi-rez format, which I may change soon, reducing them to speed loading on most browsers. Right now Chrome followed by Firefox seem to be responding best.

These three videos were added to the secure section of the website, with more on their way:

World Naked Bike Ride 2018 Portland
Stripper Liddy & The Portland Ethos
Behind The Scenes With Stormy Daniels

World Naked Bike Ride 2018 Portland Oregon

World Naked Bike Ride 2018 Portland Oregon, members video

Liddy Talking About Why She Loves Portland

Liddy Talking About Why She Loves Portland

Stormy Daniels being interviewed for Reviewer TV.

Stormy Daniels being interviewed for Reviewer TV.

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

[Premium Content]

Portland’s Annual WNBR

The World Naked Nike Ride came to Portland again and we got video for you.

by Reviewer Rob

Being on the road like this I should develop a way to bring in some income rather than rely on savings. Therefore I’m going to make full length videos available only to paying customers/patrons/members, starting with this one from the World Naked Bike Ride in Portland last weekend: .

To see the Members Video, on Vimeo first become a Member HERE.

Click the pics below for the video link.

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018

members video: World Naked Bike Ride Portland 2018